Early Years Foundation Stage

Welcome to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), which is how the Government and early years’ professionals describe the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development. 

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are: 

  • Communication and language
    • Listening and Attention
    • Speaking
    • Listening  
  • Physical development
    • Moving and Handling
    • Health and Self-Care 
  • Personal, social and emotional development
    • Self-confidence and Self-awareness
    • Managing feelings and Behaviour
    • Making relationships

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.  As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are: 

  • Literacy
    • Reading
    • Writing 
  • Mathematics
    • Number
    • Shape, Space and Measure
  • Understanding the world
    • People and Communities
    • The World
    • Technology
  • Expressive arts and design
    • Exploring and Using Media and Materials
    • Being Imaginative

Teachers and support staff work closely to plan unique learning opportunities that are focused around the interests of every child. These learning opportunities support children to develop in to well-rounded individuals who are confident to tackle new challenges.

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside. At Great Bradfords new skills are learnt, minds opened, imaginations sparked, discoveries made, potential nurtured and challenges are faced confidently. We pride ourselves on providing a safe, secure and stimulating environment which encourages children to be the best they can be. 

© 2017 Great Bradfords. All rights reserved.

Website by: